Home > Kindle 2, Kindle 3G, Kindle DX > Kindle DX Bad support for Cyrillic fonts

Kindle DX Bad support for Cyrillic fonts

By Dmitri Kazberouk

First of all, hardware is absolutely excellent. No questions and no competition.

For me there is one serious problem (though with workarounds), and one minor.

Minor problem is the organization of folders. It has “Collections”, but they are only 1 level deep, and it is not a trivial task to add books to collections if you have tens or especially hundreds of them using Kindle interface. It would be much more convenient if I could manage books using normal folders which could be created and managed using computer.

Major problem (important not for everybody) is the absence of native support for Cyrillic (Russian) fonts. As far as I understand, there are some cracks available on Internet which would allow it – but why it was not done by Amazon, I do not know (it is possible that you can install only one type of fonts – fine with me, I would be happy to download the necessary font set from Amazon site and install it). I am afraid to use such kind of software unless it is absolutely necessary, I do not want to destroy Kindle. There is another workaround which I am using: PDF works perfectly even for Russian texts. So I am converting the books into PDF using the font size I like, and after that all is OK.

Finally, I am missing the support of some other file formats, especially FB2 (which would be trivial to support) and DJVU. Again, I can convert these files into PDF, but why not to make a program that will support these formats? I would be happy to buy it.

Kindle DX

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment